Rep. Mazzochi appointed to Property Tax Relief Task Force

State Representative Deanne Mazzochi (R-Elmhurst) has been
appointed to serve on the newly-created Property Tax Relief Task Force
responsible for proposing solutions to achieve meaningful property tax relief for
suburban homeowners. Representative Mazzochi’s appointment to the bipartisan
task force was made by House Minority Leader Jim Durkin, R-Western Springs, in
recognition of her commitment to taxpayers.

“We all know Illinois’ property tax system is broken,” Mazzochi
said. “High property taxes make it difficult for more families to achieve and
maintain the dream of homeownership, and make it nearly impossible for seniors
on fixed incomes to afford to stay in their homes. The time for action is long
overdue. This Property Tax Relief Task Force signals our commitment to finally
come together on a bipartisan basis to reform the system. I intend to use my
appointment to the task force to offer solutions that will deliver meaningful
results for local families.”

Specifically, the Task Force is charged with examining the
root causes of high property taxes in communities across the state; assessing
other states’ legislative solutions to reduce property tax burdens in both the
short and long term; and proposing policy changes that will bring real relief
to Illinois homeowners.

The Task Force is required to submit a report to the
Governor and the General Assembly with both short and long-term solutions that
can take an administrative, electoral or legislative approach. The initial
report will be produced within 90 days, and a final report will be due by
December 31, 2019.

For questions or more information, please call
Representative Mazzochi’s office at (630) 852-8633.

The post Rep. Mazzochi appointed to Property Tax Relief Task Force appeared first on Deanne Mazzochi.


Pay by Citizens for Mazzochi © 2023. All Rights Reserved.

A copy of our report filed with the State Board of Elections is (or will be) available on the Board’s official website ( or for purchase from the State Board of Elections, Springfield, Illinois.